The Rule we never Heard

Have you ever come across a term or rule that we all follow but never knew about?

Heard

So, the other day I was traipsing through the World Wide Web as you do, and I came across an historic rule in which we all live by in the way we structure our sentences. Now the complex derivative of the alphabet and language has always astonished me. It just doesn’t seemingly make sense in my head that at some point in time communication and the symbolism of lines that create these words and letters could just come to be.

Anyway, on my travels I came across this excerpt from a book called: The Elements of Eloquence (catchy huh!) in which it denotes that;

“Adjectives in English absolutely have to be in this order: opinion-size-age-shape-colour-origin-material-purpose Noun. So you can have a lovely little old rectangular green French silver whittling knife. But if you mess with that word order in the slightest you’ll sound like a maniac. It’s an odd thing that every English speaker uses that list, but almost none of us could write it out.”

Being someone with a particularly dirty mind, my first thought was; “So that’s why I fucking love cake, and don’t love fucking cake?!” Excuse my French, but I did make myself chuckle!

Now for something that I’d never heard of, or even thought about, it makes complete sense. I was pretty fascinated that there are rules out there that everybody follows without even knowing it and if you were to disobey that rule then everybody would know instantly. After this I went on and did a little research and realised that there really are an amazing number of subtle techniques and applications to speaking English that must make it so difficult for outsiders to learn! It’s the subtle difference’s like when we record a record or present a present or tell a rebel to rebel. It’s a difference that is very hard for people to learn, and is the main reason that, in a strong French accent, there’s no difference between happiness and a penis.

-The Bloggerman

4 thoughts on “The Rule we never Heard

Leave a Reply

